Farmers’ Market

Ride Log 070112
(still catching up)

I have been wanting to widen my usual cycling circle beyond the library so, last Sunday, we finally ventured to our local farmers market. It has been a goal ride and something I would like to do every weekend for the season.

Riding a bike has a way of making an errand an adventure. Trips to the farmers market have always been a pleasant outing, but rarely do we linger for an extended period of time. I think our usual duration is about a half-hour; we pick up what we need, then drive home or do some other errands. This past visit was different.

Josh hitched up the Trail-a-Bike as the distance and traffic would be a bit too much for Ike. On the way there, we took back streets as long as we could before riding on the busier road. I followed behind, way behind as I am a slower rider and wanted to enjoy the journey. At the market, we made our purchases and, realizing it was about lunch time, decided to eat some yummy barbecue there. There were a few children decorating the willow arbors with Rainier cherries (I assume rejects) and wildflowers and invited Ike to help them. This made for an incredibly sweet scene as they draped cherries and ran into the field to collect flowers. Again, I felt this great calm and patience. All was how it should be. I felt no rush to be elsewhere. Then, when it was the right moment, we hopped on our bikes and headed for home along the highway, a much busier road than the busy road we tried to avoid on the way to the market, but it has a much wider bike lane and a nice hill to coast down at the turn off.

It was the longest ride I have taken so far and I felt exhilarated after. I want that ride to feel as easy as going to the library and to maybe even pull the Trail-a-Bike myself. I will need to feel stronger and less fearful before that happens though. I am gaining more confidance with each ride and I know that it anything is possible with perserverence and practice. There was a time I would just sabotage, give up, not try to move out of my comfort zone, but today I am trying to expand it.

20120705-010139.jpg

4 thoughts on “Farmers’ Market

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day! Just keep doing what you are doing and your strength will get there. At least I don’t hear you complaining about your butt cheeks! Many overdo in the Spring and by Summer still have not been able to sustain a lengthy time in the saddle. Easy does it. Your plan of a little farther each week is wonderful.

    I liked the blog about the basket. I need to get a basket or rear rack on the Day6 so I can pick up groceries in town. So nice on the weekend to be able to just ride down there. Hoping to get into good enough shape on the hills that I can ride clear back without stopping. Right now I stop at key points on the way up and rest a bit. I can see Joshes reluctance. He probably still sees bicycling as BMX daredevil stuff. Actually plenty of thrills and danger just getting out on the road!

    I think bicycles are the best invention right after the wheel! For the same amount of calories burned we can go about 4 times as far in a given amount of time as when walking. So efficient and no pollution and fitness to boot.

    You spoke of fear. I hadn’t ridden in a couple of years when I took my Schwinn to work and started riding at lunch. First day out I dumped the bike going across at the walk signal. Went to check behind me while mounting. Bad move. Still leery of the traffic. Use lots of safety lights on the bike and on my helmet. That’s not necessary on the path. Understand your fear. Time in the cockpit will help with that. I should have just emailed you this I didn’t think it would be this long. Just sharing.

    ricky

  2. Thanks for the encouragement! Fear kept me from riding a bike for too long. It was a little boy’s desire to pedal that got me back on. We are lucky to live in a bike-friendly town in a bike-friendly state…I, too, am a believer that the bicycle is one of the best inventions. I love this quote:

    When man invented the bicycle he reached the peak of his attainments. Here was a machine of precision and balance for the convenience of man. And (unlike subsequent inventions for man’s convenience) the more he used it, the fitter his body became. Here, for once, was a product of man’s brain that was entirely beneficial to those who used it, and of no harm or irritation to others. Progress should have stopped when man invented the bicycle. ~Elizabeth West, Hovel in the Hills

  3. Pingback: Ride Log 070412 | Full Pedal Basket

  4. Pingback: Country Roads | Full Pedal Basket

Leave a Reply

