A Break in the Rain

Ride Log 071312 

Since living in the Northwest, I have learned to be more spontaneous because of the weather. In the SoCal of my youth, there are endless days of sunny days with no guilt about staying indoors and little worry about having to change outdoor plans due to rain.

Last week was true summer: coastal fog in the morning that burned off to glorious sun way before noon, bright afternoons, and long, warm twilights. But the rain would return; too much forest, mountain, sea. The original plan for today was a trip to the beach, but last night, not five minutes after I brought a bunch of toys inside, the deluge began. As I was going to sleep, I thought the rumbles and flashes outside the curtains were from July 4th leftovers and wondered if it was still raining.

I went to a step-study group this morning and we opened the curtains to better see the lightning. Thunder’s roars have been sending bolts of adrenalin through me all day. Sudden glimpses of blue sky are followed by sheets of rain. In one break in the rain (the longest of the day as it urns out), I was able to get out for a ride. I came home from the study group to find a notice from the post office. The weather at that moment was fine and felt I should take advantage of the moment and task. Ike decided to stay home with grandma, so off I rode pleased to go at my own pace. The certified letter was good news from a bad situation, which one day I may write about when I have more time and inclination. Since I was close to the store, I stopped to pick up some cat food and once again was grateful for my basket. I pedaled home thinking, “what a great way to travel.” I put my bike in the garage, came upstairs, said “Hi” to Ike and grandma, then looked out the window and it was pouring. Not a minute too soon. So glad I jumped at the opportunity and did not procrastinate or wait for Ike to want to go, I probably would have never made it out.

At the Post Office

2 thoughts on “A Break in the Rain

  1. Wow thunderboomers! I miss the storms from Nebraska, tornadoes and all.
    All about the adrenaline rush and feeling small! Your writing is beautiful.

    Rode 11 miles Monday, 12 Tuesday, and 12 Wednesday. Hitting 12 miles an hour. Think I’ll ride the Day 6 to San Juan tomorrow. (Sunday, looks like that’s today now!) Only problem with that is coming home, but I am in better shape than I was the last time I rode back up the hills. I’ll let you know if I make it.

    Hugs to you all,

    Ricky

    • I always loved lightening storms. I remember watching a one from a train. Can’t remember if it was Europe or Mexico, but it was so thrilling. The Nebraskan ski probably put on quite a show.

Leave a Reply

